Last week Burger King added a tasty new treat to their menu in the form of a halloumi burger.
Served in a brioche bun, the burger is made up of halloumi, lettuce, onions, tomatoes and mayonnaise – making it seem like the perfect option for any visiting vegetarians.
However veggies have quickly discovered that they won't be able to order the meat-free item if they go by their local branch of the fast food restaurant.
And that's because it's not actually suitable for vegetarians.
Despite not containing any meat and being made with a type of halloumi that uses vegetarian rennet, the burger is cooked in the same oil as chicken and fish.
Burger King have confirmed this on Twitter and in a post on their website.
Speaking to Metro, a spokesperson for the company explained why it was prepared in this way.
They said: "At this moment in time we’re not operationally able to facilitate separate fryers and oil filtration systems in all of our restaurants.
"However this is a focus for us and our team are actively looking into solutions for how we can change this in the future."
They added that they have not advertised the burger as vegetarian, but instead they used the term "meat-free" on promotional materials.
However this clarification did little to appease furious vegetarians who felt mislead by the chain.
One person tweeted: "So you created a meat-free burger for meat eaters? Did you not think that opening up the availability of this to vegetarians by simply changing the way it's cooked would be a wise decision?"
Another wrote: "Just went to try the new halloumi burger, lucky I read the very small print because it is fried in animal fat and I'm vegetarian. Very misleading and I presume your chips are the same. IT'S 2019 GUYS."
A third angrily confessed she'd eaten the burger before discovering her mistake: "PSA: Burger King halloumi burger is not vegetarian!!! I ate this today only to find out it's not fried separately from chicken/fish products. Actually s*** from Burger King for not making this clear and including it in the veggie section of the menu."
Source: Read Full Article